Stories from the Northern Road

Product Information

Newcon Press » All Books » eBooks » Stories from the Northern Road
  • Author: Tony Ballantyne
  • Date Published: Sept 2012
  • Cover Artist: Fangorn
Product Options

Price: from £3.19

Loading Updating cart...

Imaginings Volume 3: Stories from the Northern Road – Tony Ballantyne

Cover art by Fangorn

The first ever collection from one of the UK’s finest SF authors: Tony Ballantyne,

The book is divided into two sections. The first, "Stories from the Northern Road" features a quartet of tales set on the world of Penrose, as introduced in Tony's Tor novels Twisted Metal and Blood and Iron. This section has a distinct flavour of the old West about it... if the old West had been populated by a race of sentient robots – think Asimov meets Firefly. The stories are all stand alones but they are thematically linked, combining to provide what amounts to a mythology for the people of Penrose. This first section is entirely original to the collection.

The second half of the book, "Recursive Tales", contains five stories. All are set in a future timeline which traces the development of the human race as overseen by benevolent AIs. Three of these stories previously featured in Interzone, a fourth in the DAW anthology We Think Therefore We Are, and the fifth is original to the collection. Tony developed the ideas and the milieu of these stories for his first novel, Recursion, which was shortlisted for the Philip K Dick Award, and subsequently for it's sequels, Capacity and Divergence.

Tony Ballantyne is, of course, renowned for his short fiction, with several stories selected for Years Best anthologies. Tales from the Northern Road showcases Tony at his very best.


  1. Introduction

Stories from the Northern Road

  1. A Note from the Author
  2. Four Blind Horses
  3. Janet Verdigris
  4. Isabel and the Outlandish Robots
  5. The Robot Behind Me

Recursive Tales

  2. Restoring the Balance 1
  3. Restoring the Balance 2
  4. Seeds
  5. The Sixth VNM

Released September 2012, as a Signed Hardback Edition, limited to 125 copies: £19.99


Released: September 2012